Qualifications and Credits Framework (QCF)

The QCF is a new way of recognising achievement through the award of credit for units and qualifications.

Currently it is hard to understand all the different types of qualification that learners hold; what level they are, how long they take to complete, what content they cover, and how they compare to other qualifications. The new framework will help present qualifications in a way that is easy to understand and measure.

For a full explanation of the QCF please see the:

Qualification and Curriculum Development Agency website.

The following shows at which level the courses Wiltshire College provides appear in the framework. Look out for these icons on the course information sheets!


Qualifications Framework Entry LevelEntry Level (Foundation Learning Tier)

  • Entry Level Certificate/Award
  • Certificate in Skills for Working Life

Qualifications Framework Level 1Level 1 (Foundation Learning Tier)

  • BTEC Introductory Certificate/Diploma
  • Foundation Diploma (14-19)
  • NVQ 1
  • VRQ 1 Professional Diploma
  • Foundation Certificate

Qualifications Framework Level 2Level 2

  • BTEC First Certificate/ Diploma
  • Higher Diploma (14-19)
  • Apprenticeships
  • GCSEs
  • NVQ 2
  • NVQ Professional Diploma
  • City & Guilds National Certificate
  • Certificate in Construction

Qualifications Framework Level 3Level 3

  • BTEC National Award/Certificate/Diploma
  • Advanced Diploma
  • Advanced Apprenticeship
  • A Levels (AS and A2)
  • NVQ 3
  • City & Guilds Advanced National Certificate
  • Access To Higher Education

Qualifications Framework Level 4Level 4 (Higher Education)

  • Certificate of Higher Education
  • Award in Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector
  • NVQ 4

Qualifications Framework Level 5Level 5 (Higher Education)

  • Higher National Certificate
  • Higher National Diploma
  • Foundation Degree
  • NVQ 5
  • Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector

Qualifications Framework Level 6Level 6 (Higher Education)

  • Honours Degree
  • Graduate Certificate of Further and Higher Education

View all courses